SHEYPHALI B SHARAN

ADDITIONAL DIRECTOR GENERAL

[MEDIA & COMMUNICATIONS]

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

(ELECTION COMMISSION)

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA
PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU

SHASTRI BHAVAN

NEW DELHI

Dated: 13th January, 2021

CIRCULAR

Sub: Submission of Application (offline) for issuance of ECI's "Authority Letter" to Media persons for coverage of Bye-elections/Biennial Election in various States to fill casual vacancies

•••

Sir/Madam,

Applications are invited from Delhi-based Media persons for ECI's "Authority Letter" for coverage of Polling and Counting during bye-elections /Biennial Election to fill casual vacancies in various States. A statement showing the details of these seats is given in Annexure "1"

The Polling and Counting will be held in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, Bihar Legislative Council and Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council on **28**th **January**, **2021** (**Thursday**).

Delhi-based PIB accredited correspondents/camerapersons are requested to fill up the form, as attached in Annexure II, specifying full particulars of name and organization along with two stamp size photographs and submit it in Room No.109, National Media Centre (Ph 23488030) for collecting the requisite Authority slips. The requisite form is attached below (Annexure II).

All application forms duly signed and endorsed by the Editor/ Chief of Bureau should reach the undersigned by 22.01.2021.

Pl. note that the said authority letter to enter a "Counting Centre" does not entitle one to enter a "Counting Hall". Access to Counting Hall will be governed by instructions issued Vide Commission's letter No. 491/CNTG/MCS/99.

Yours sincerely,

(Sheyphali B Sharan)

- 1. All Editors/Chiefs of Bureau of both print and electronic media & News Agencies
- 2. All Accredited Correspondents/Camerapersons
- 3. DG (News) Doordarshan/All India Radio
- 4. Director, Photo Division, Soochna Bhavan, New Delhi

1. There is one casual vacancy in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly. The details of the vacancy are as follows:

Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Smt. Pothula Sunitha	By MLAs	Resignation on 01.11.2020	29.03.2023

2. There are two casual vacancies in the Bihar Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly. The details of the vacancies are as follows:

Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Sh.Vinod Narain Jha	By MLAs	Elected to Bihar Legislative Assembly on 11.11.2020	21.07.2022
Sh.Sushil Kumar Modi	By MLAs	Resignation on 09.12.2020	06.05.2024

3. The term of 12 members of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council elected by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) is expiring on 30.01.2021. Details are given as under: -

S. No	Name of Member	Date of Retirement
1.	Dr. Dinesh Sharma	

2.	Ahmad Hasan	
3.	Ashu Malik	
4.	Dharm Veer Singh Ashok	
5.	Nasimuddin Siddiqui (Vacant due to disqualification w.e.f 22.02.2018 vide order dated 21.07.2020 issued by The Chairman of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council)	30.01.2021
6.	Pradeep Kumar Jatav	
7.	Ramesh Yadav	
8.	Ramjatan	
9.	Laxman Prasad Acharya	
10	Virendra Singh	
11.	Swatantra Dev	
12.	Sahab Singh Saini	

Application for Authority slips for Covering of Polling and Counting of Bye-elections / Biennial election to fill casual vacancies in different States

Name:		
Father's /Spouse Name	e	
Nationality		
Category		
Date of Birth		
Date of Application		
Organization		
Email		
Mobile	Tel. No.(O)	
PIB Accreditation Car	rd No.	
Organization Address		
City		
Correspondence Addr	ress	
City		
Choose the following	options:	
State_	Options	
Polling	Counting	
		Signature of the Applicant
	Nomination Letter	
I nominate	for Covering	of Polling and Counting of

Signature of Editor/Chief of	of Media	Organi	zation
	(wit	h Office	e Seal)

Name of Editor:

Contact No.:

Email id: